Understanding the NDIS

MyIntegra are here to shine a light and help you with understanding the NDIS. Launched by the Australian Federal Government in 2013, the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) gives people with a disability greater choice and control over the supports they receive.

It provides eligible people with funding based on their personal needs, goals and aspirations. 

FAQs about understanding the NDIS

The NDIS provides information and funding for support to eligible people with intellectual, physical, sensory, cognitive and psychosocial disability. Early intervention supports can also be provided for eligible people with disability or children with developmental delay.

There are around 4.3 million Australians who have a disability.

Within the next five years, it’s estimated 500,000 Australians who have permanent and significant disability will be access more than $22 billion in funding from the NDIS each year.

For many people, it may be the first time they receive the support they need.

Before the NDIS was introduced, it was clear that people with a disability needed a fairer system. An enquiry found that the support available for people with a disability varied a lot – and many people weren’t able to maximise the benefits. So, in July 2013, the Federal Government introduced the NDIS to make access to services more consistent and equitable.

For eligible people, the NDIS provides greater freedom to choose services.

You get to choose the type of supports you receive, how you receive them, and which disability service providers you’ll work with. You’ll receive individual funding and have control over how your funds are managed.

As a NDIS registered provider, MyIntegra is here to help make these positive changes happen as smoothly as possible.

The NDIS rollout across Australia was completed on 1 July 2020.

The NDIS was initially launched in July 2013 in four locations, followed by another three in mid-2014. Roll out of the full scheme in all states and territories (except Western Australia) started progressively from July 2016.

For more information about the roll out details visit the NDIS website.

The National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) is responsible for rolling the scheme out across Australia and is supported by Early Childhood Early Intervention (ECEI) partners and Local Area Coordination (LAC) partners.

The NDIA makes decisions about whether a person is eligible to access the NDIS and  how much funding they will get.

The NDIS Act 2013 sets out what supports and services are considered reasonable and necessary for the NDIS to fund.

Local Area Coordination partners are companies that employ Local Area Coordinators (LAC).

LACs help people understand and access the NDIS and work with participants to develop and use their NDIS plan.

For most people aged seven years and older, an LAC will be their main point of contact for the NDIS.

Part of a LACs role is to connect people with disability to supports, services, activities in their community and other government services.

Early Childhood Early Intervention (ECEI) helps children aged 0-6 years who have a developmental delay or disability.

ECEI Partners are companies that employ ECEI Coordinators.

ECEIs help children and their families access the NDIS, supports and services that are tailored to the child’s needs.

They will also help with connection to other services such as community health services, playgroups or other activities.

Visit the NDIS website locations page or call 1800 800 110 to find your local ECEI or LAC partner.

Understanding the NDIS and how it works

Step One

Check Eligibility

Step Two

Apply for NDIS

Step Three

Decision Time

Step Four

Create Your Plan

Step Five

Use Your Plan

Let us step you through understanding the NDIS and how it works for you. Learn more about how the NDIS works, and getting started with your application here.

What's included in an NDIS plan?

Each NDIS plan then has three main parts:

Part 1 – About me:
This includes a short description of you and your daily life, the activities you enjoy or participate in, and the people who support you.

Part 2 – My goals:
Here will be a list of your goals that you agreed with the LAC or Planner. There are usually two to three goals. These are the goals that you will work towards during the term of the plan.

Part 3 – My supports:
This section of your NDIS plan is the most detailed and includes information on the supports in your plan, including:

  • help from your family and friends, mainstream and community supports (informal supports)
  • local community groups or government provided services like school, health or transport services
  • ‘Reasonable and Necessary’ supports, including how much funding you will have access to over the course of your NDIS plan.


Ready to get started?

We’re here to help, no matter where you are on your NDIS journey.

Understanding NDIS Budgets and Funding Categories

The three support budget types in a NDIS plan

Supports and services fall into three types of budgets within your NDIS plan. These are:

  • Core Supports budget
  • Capacity Building Supports budget
  • Capital Supports budget


There are 15 broad support categories which the NDIS can give you funding for to pay a range of services and products. Each fit into one of the budget areas listed above.

We’ll explore which supports are ‘stated supports’, where the funds are allocated for a specific item, and the various flexible options you have for using your funds to pay for your disability services.

Read our latest blogs about the NDIS

Helpful NDIS Resources

Learn more